How to make a flower, butterfly and Bird wreath

I love making wreaths, I’ve formed quite a collection of wreath images and tutorials I’ve come across on the internet and of course pined them to some of my  Pinterest boards. I swear it’s starting to become a little obsessional (wreaths and Pinterest that is)!

When my daughter asked if I’d help her make one for her bedroom I happily agreed.

Alice-Sara is big on glitter and of course she wanted to incorporate this into her wreath.

I thought it looked a lot like a Christmas wreath but equally as stunning.

When your child designs and makes something it will always remain special within your heart.

I myself have been busy creating a wreath and hope to share this on the blog soon. I’m really into the Shabby Chic look and am busy bringing this look into my home. I’m yet to decorate my bedroom as life gets in the way and to be honest I’m always to busy making sure the children are sorted first (only to end up redecorating their rooms 5x before ever starting my own). My wreath is very shabby and will defiantly tie in with the look.

OK, back to my daughter and her flower, butterfly and bird wreath. We created a little video to give you a very quick run down on how we made it but here’s a quick how too in words first.

We used

1 small half Styrofoam wreath (this means its flat not round at the back making it easier to hang)

2 different coloured ribbons (around 7m white pattern ribbon and 4m plain yellow)

Some dress pins (tiny pin heads)

Lots of pre-cut glitter flower and butterfly embellishments

Clear double-sided tape

2 red bird embellishments with sticky foam backing (brought from hobby craft)

Alice-Sara is pretty funky and she really likes to mix up her colours as you’ll discover…

First we wrapped the white flower ribbon around the wreath tightly leaving a small section uncovered.

We secured the ribbon with some dress pins

We then took the yellow ribbon and cut around a meter off before wrapping this around the remaining section and again secured with dress pins.

DO MAKE SURE YOU DO THIS SO THAT NO STYROFOAM IS LEFT SHOWING.

The yellow section will be the top of your wreath. Take the remaining yellow ribbon and fold as to create a loop for hanging. We secured this to the top where the yellow section is wrapped with around three pins (note the dress pins need to be the type that have tiny pin heads so they look almost invisible, though the back doesn’t really matter as wont be seen when hanging).

Next take the flower embellishments and pin these to the wreath. Use the double-sided tape to layer different coloured flowers on top of one another as to create a two tone effect (do this before pinning and for only some and not all of the flowers).

Cover the wreath as you wish.

Experiment a bit before pinning. You could cover the whole area or maybe just half!

Place your butterflies amongst the flowers as you wish.

To finish add the sparkly birds (these came with a sticky tab attached and it’s this that gives it that 3d effect.

Lastly, all that is left to do is hang and admire.

Check out the video

 
Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

