Creating your own Mother & Baby Gift Basket

As some of you may already know, my sister recently become a mother. In celebration of this very special occasion, I gave her a beautiful BabyBloom bouquet (see review here). As lovely as this was, and this was incredible beautiful, I still wanted to give her something else, something with my own personal to touch.

I’d been collecting odds and ends for my sister every time I hit the shops. These were just a collection of those little things from, sanitary towels, nipple pads, fragrant bath treats, to baby bath and lotions for the little one.

It was only when tossing them into a bag, ready to drop off, that I had the idea to create a mother and baby basket! How much nicer than a contemporary old bag, it would be the perfect gift with personal touches, from one sister to another, a perfect addition to her BabyBloom’s bouquet.

 I didn’t have to buy much before getting started! I already had the perfect basket, thanks to a blogging event I’d recently attended (this was filled with products that once removed, I had no use for)! All I really needed was some really pretty ribbon, blue to celebrate the pending birth of a very special little boy. I found the perfect baby blue and white spotty ribbon in a lovely privately owned craft shop in Hayes Kent, not far from were my eldest son attends school, plus one or two other treasures for any furture craft projects!

 Here’s the full list of items I used to create this Mother and Baby Basket…

1  large woven basket

5 meters of baby blue & white spotted ribbon 

Craft wire 

Selection of light and dark blue beads

Selection of Blue sequins

Section of clear beads

Few blue buttons

8 small cream craft flowers 

1 small white votive candle 

1 small glass clear votive holder 

1 medium white organza pull string bag

Selection of crystal style embellishments (mixed sizes)

1 felt embellishment (with the words it’s a Boy)

Thin clear double-sided tap

Scissors 

2 meters of light blue silk ribbon

Small bag of blue basket straw

1 sheet of baby blue tissue paper

small thin strips of blue crafting ribbon

1 small clear plastic wrapping ( you can use any other type of clear plastic covering or wrapping )

 Here’s how I put the above together to create the basket as shown below!

Step 1

I placed the blue straw in my basket spreading it evenly as to cover the whole inner bottom section.

Step 2

I used around 3 and a half meters, maybe a little more, of the Baby blue and white spotted ribbon for the basket handles. I cut off, around one and a half meters of ribbon and placed to one side. I then cut the remaining ribbon into two equal pieces. Then one handle at a time, I wrapped each handle in ribbon, simply by tying one end of ribbon into a bow, wrapping the remaining ribbon around the handle till I reached the opposite end, then finishing in another bow. I did the same action for both handles. 

Step 3

Taking some craft wire, twisting one end tight as not to let any beads fall, I began threading some of the mixed blue and clear beads before adding two sequins & then repeating the action a few more times before twisting the remaining end of wire tightly. I then took the finished wire and wove it through a small section on the top outer side of the basket. I repeated such action on the opposite side. Step 4

I then took my small cream flowers and attached 4 flowers per handle (2 on each end) I did this easily by looping the attached wire through the ends of the handle and twisting to secure in place. 

Step 5 

Taking my felt blue embellishment that reads “Its a Blue” and some of the remaining spotted blue and white ribbon (leaving enough for a few finishing touches) I looped it trough the embellishment, then placing the basket handles together, I tied the ribbon around both handles, making a bow, leaving the embellishment dangling slightly below. I then finished by sticking 4 sparkly pre sticky embellishments to the bow, and one to the felt blue embellishment.

Step 6

Taking the small glass votive candle holder and some thin blue craft ribbon, I measured the conference of the votive holder by wrapping the ribbon around the middle, making sure it slightly overlapped before cutting to size! I then did the same with some thin double-sided tape, placing the exposed sticky side to the glass and wrapping it around the middle section of the holder making sure it overlapped, as I had the craft ribbon. I then cut the tape to size (while still attached to votive holder) before removing the outer covering of the tap as to leave a thin clear stripe. I then took the craft ribbon that was measured and cut to size, and wrapped it around the votive holder pressing it firmly against the clear sticky stripe. I did the same process all over again as to create the pattern of a cross. To cover any connecting over lap, I used a medium-sized sparkle embellishment. Once complete, I placed the white votive into the newly decorated glass holder and wrapped in the clear plastic wrapping and then secured with a small piece of the left over baby blue and white spotted ribbon and some sparkle gems on the outer wrapping to finish.

Step 7     

I then took my white organza medium-sized tie string bag and placed a packet of beautiful Winnie the Pooh birth announcements id brought for my sister, inside, along with a few pinches of mixed blue sequins, before tying the bag shut. I then decorated the other section of the bag with the same sparkly pre sticky embellishments as those used on the bow and the votive holder. I did this by sticking them to the bag spaciously. To finish I tied it with the remaining baby blue and white spotted ribbon.

Step 8

To create a personalised tag I drew a circle by drawing around the bottom of a bottle onto some flexible white card, then using the scissors I cut it out! I then used a pencil and the same bottle to draw a circle of the same size carefully on the small piece of light blue tissue paper, and again cut this out. I then used the thin double-sided tap to sticki 4 pre measured strips to the cardboard circle (diagonally). Once complete I placed the tissue paper circle on top of the cardboard circle that I’d placed the strips of tape. This didn’t only help the tissue paper to stick but also created a really nice lined effect that was visible through the tissue paper. I then folded the tag in half and cut a small heart shape and opened back out. I then took some of the silk blue ribbon (cutting around a meter of for trimmings and finishes) looped it through the heart-shaped hole, and continued to do this over and over again till there is only a small bit of ribbon left (enough to tie to the basket or something within it). I stuck 2 flower style sequins to the label, placing 2 small sparkly gems on top of each sequin which was placed opposite to one another, plus 1 larger gem in the middle and two smaller ones on the ribbon itself. Lastly I finished by writing desired message.

Step 9 

I used some of the small blue buttons along with the remaining silk blue ribbon to create pretty finishing touches, by tying around some of the gifts to be placed within the basket, as I had with the baby blue and white spotty ribbon.

Step 10

Lastly, I arranged the items I had collected into the fully decorated basket.

Here’s some of what was included

For mum

Beauty samples of creams and lotions

sweetie bag

Nipple pads

Pads

Bath roses

Stick on Gel Nails

candle and votive holder

Baby announcement cards (as placed in organza bag)

Plus a whole host more

 For Baby

Johnson Baby lotion

Johnson Baby bath

Johnson Baby moisturiser

baby hat

Mittens

Tiny bright cot toy

Cuddly super soft cat

small baby boy frame

For a first time attempt, I’m pretty pleased with the results. The plan was to give my sister something that was tailored to her and her new baby, something that I’d spent time creating and putting together, something unique plus practical! 

I really do feel I achieved this! As easy as it would have been to purchase a mother and baby basket online, this wouldn’t have been as special as I would have liked! It really is satisfying to complete a project and gain the sought after reaction desired!

Yes, my sister loved it! 

2 thoughts on “Creating your own Mother & Baby Gift Basket

  1. That looks really lovely! To get it in the shop would’ve cost you an arm and a leg… and it still would’ve had some bits that were redundant in it.
    That basket looks like a great basket to store nappies and muslins in!

  2. Hi Claire Louise-

    I’m Bud from the blog Sunday Stealing (http://sundaystealing.blogspot.com). Every week we rip a meme off someone’s blog. Today we chose one of yours from February 21st. We give you full credit and link back to your blog. The great thing is that a lot of previous “victims” such as yourself have become regular players! We usually publish the blog between 1 and 3 PM EST Saturday. We usually get between 40 to 60 people who play and comment on each others responses. And a lot of our players are previous victims of our theft like you! We hope you play along in the weeks to come! Thank you and have a great day…

    Bud

Leave a Reply

