A muddy affair

Last Sunday was the day of Danson festival despite the sun shining the rain failed to stay at bay but in true festival Spirit myself, friend and two of my three monsters dragged our wet butts to Danson park.

Little man really didn’t fancy getting wet amongst the crowds, so he stayed at home with dad.

Sadly the toddler refused to put on his Wellies which resulted in some very muddy new trainers… But that’s life.

Despite the on and off rain the festival had remained pretty busy. We had a look around the large number of craft stools as we munched on hot donuts… Yes i know, So fattening but extremely yummy!

The toddler usually has this fear of getting dirty (well his hands more than anything) however, somehow the trip to the festival seemed to have cured him. I’ve never seen so much mud nor have I ever seen one child so interested in the stuff!

20120713-224825.jpg

I’d quickly turned from a mad crazy mother, continuously wiping mud of her 2 year old, to one who had given up and could now be seen quite happily jumping in muddy puddles as she danced with him. Yes… I had somehow found myself in muddy heaven

20120713-225244.jpg

The festival was a blast and all seemed to be enjoying themselves. My 9 year old daughter included.

20120713-225729.jpg

I love a good festival. Each with it’s own unique vibe but all as laid back and carefree as one another. Yes it’s July and I should be wearing my flip flops as opposed to my Wellies but this is England after all.

The best part of the day had to be the dancing over at the main stage ( in the mud of course). Even the toddler was giving it some of his best moves.

There was a large fun fair and plenty of stalls to keep the family entertained. Nonetheless we didn’t do much walking around, choosing to instead stay by the stage dancing till we could dance no more.

At one point, right towards the end, my daughter who had managed to remain reasonably mud free, accidentally slipped while getting her groove on! The result… A very muddy monster.

20120714-030747.jpg

As the sun began to set and the band sang its last tune of the evening the heavens suddenly opened and OMG did it rain…

Did we run for cover? Hell No! I wiped out a umbrella shattering the toddler as he continued to do his groovy moves in possibly the muddiest puddles I’d ever seen. My daughter Alice tried sharing her umbrella with a somewhat very wet and muddy Daisy (my friends dog) and me… I just quite happily got soaked as I danced in what some may refer to as a monsoon (yes I did resemble a scary panda, what with the running mascara round my eyes).

20120714-031608.jpg

20120714-031652.jpg

As the music came to an end so did the rain, looking up towards the sky, there it was… A beautiful rainbow! What an awesome way to end a festival.

20120714-031903.jpg

20120714-032021.jpg

Finally we all headed home for a shower… Wet but smiling.

Danson festival is located at Danson Park in Welling. It’s free to attend and is set up every summer.

3 thoughts on “A muddy affair

Leave a Reply

