MUMSNET GET PUBLICITY THEY CRAVE.

I’ve read a lot about Liz Jones today. I knew I would… After all I did read her article in the Daily Mail.

At first I was shocked, but also a little tickled to hear such ignorance from a women who actually shows no intelligence within anything she writes (and I’m not just referring to the article in question). She has always come across as bitterly unhappy, a tad unhinged and most obviously… Jealous.

So… What am I gobbing off about?

Well, In a nutshell Liz Jones attended a conference known as “BlogFest” as a speaker. Blogfest is designed and targeted at “Mummy Bloggers” and the event was one organised by that of “Mumsnet”. Following the conference Liz Jones went home & wrote a somewhat unflattering article and has therefore sparked a bit of an upset within the blogging community.

Now, I won’t defend my writing or either one of my two blogging platforms. I don’t give a toss what this narrow minded Journalist writes, even if I am a “mummy blogger!” I didn’t attend the conference… But I had my reasons, ones that I was a little confused, didn’t stop others (I’ll get onto this later).

Now, Liz Jones is known for her articles, in that they are always designed to mock and defame. She has always had a certain knack when it comes to putting down something she is not… A mother! As well having a good old dig at celebrities whom are younger, quite obviously more attractive and of course more intellectual then she could ever be! This is a writer known to contradict her own words on a regular basis. Nonetheless, bitchiness sells papers and lets face it, just like me writing this, the tweets and other blog post, bring publicity and therefore raise profiles… This leads me to my next point!

But first, If you haven’t read the bitterly racist article about the “Mummy bloggers” written by this anti mother motormouth then just google or tweet it. I really don’t want to include the link… My guess is the mail online has done great enough already with their backlinks and page ranking for one day.

For me there is a matter much more important than the article itself that should be spoke about! One i’m surprised that you bloggers are not raising already! Anyone guessed where I’m heading with this?

Well if you haven’t… Shame on you. I simply ask you all this… “What about the ones who set about causing such a stir in the first place?” Are you with me yet? “The ones who fancied creating some guaranteed publicity for themselves when they invited a well known venomous columnist to an event said to be targeted at parent bloggers and their children?”

Mumsnet… it is them you are forgetting! What about their part in this? Do you really think they invited such a speaker not knowing her views? Lets be serious here, her words have never been anything other than ignorant when it comes to mothers!

Did Mumsnet not expect a mention in the pages of the national paper? Yer… Of course they didn’t! What better way to get things trending on twitter then by using a motormouth such as Liz Jones!

Importantly… Coming back to that brief reference I made earlier in regards to not attending. I was a little saddened when discovering that mummy bloggers who I follow, had actually exchanged money to attend this publicity fest… More so because each should remember that Mumsnet wrote a book pretty much branding us to be pretty similar to that of the words and opinions of Liz Jones!

What did you all forget this little fact?

I disregard the said article written by Liz Jones as a load of cobblers. However, I ask each and everyone of you bloggers who attended this event, why you wanted to attend an event organised by a group who have already openly rubbished what we do as bloggers? I swear I heard half of you state you were not returning to the site and its forum. Not when they are openly biting the hand that feeds them.

I therefore ask you all what you expected from a Mumsnet event… A pat on the back and a well done badge for your sidebar?

Seriously… Did you?

9 thoughts on “MUMSNET GET PUBLICITY THEY CRAVE.

  1. I distrust Mumsnet site, so catty. Even the usernames are often venomous.

    I also thought was a publicity stunt by mn.

  2. Who are you annoyed at? Liz Jones or Mumsnet? The former I can understand, the latter not so much.

    As for publicity, well they are a business aren’t they?

    So of course they would want publicity and to generate traffic to their site.

    But let me ask you, you fill my Twitter feed with all your competition entries and such like, I don’t mind, I understand why, but how is that any different?

    I followed your blog because it was about the autistic experience, now TBF its a lot about product reviews. As I said, I don’t really mind or I would’ve unfollowed you, but what springs to mind is…..

    Pot….Kettle….Black.

      • That is fine, I wrote something and everyone is entitled to an opinion. I respect that. I just felt like I was accused of being a blogger blagger for a moment and although I can’t change views, I at least wanted to comment and respond to some of your points.

    • I’m not angry I feel the article wasn’t nice but I’m not angry. I’m not angry at Mumsnet and can’t find your point. For one this has no relevance to what I blog about. I’m stating that Mumsnet wrote something’s that made bloggers angry so why attend an event when its organised by a group who have opening been ignorant. How this is pot call kettle black is beyond me? I’m not stating publicity isn’t OK I’m just asking why Mumsnet would invite a reporter who openly hates mums to an event full of them. Secondly this blog is not about autism! If you look at the link u clicked to find this you will see its not a boy with Aspergers your commenting on. Why do you assume that just because I write about autism that everything I write must tie the two. As for product reviews, again how in gods name is it the same…. One I’ve never rubbished others for doing them, two I’ve never spammed you (just because I’m a mum of a child with autism that doesn’t mean I can’t enter competitions, surly a hobby is not the same thing). As u mention you don’t have to follow me and if you are not reading what u want to read then I’m sorry but sometimes I need a break from autism.

      Lastly just in case you wasn’t aware, and not that I have to tell u anyway. 98% of any reviews done on my other blog are then donated to schools, charities and other organisations. My kids or family keep little despite us not being rich. Actually I have just donated a beautiful necklace I won at mads to an event (ball) organised for autism charity so I can’t see how this is the same as inviting bad press to rubbish mums u are meant to be supporting

  3. The ‘publicity fest’ element has passed me by. I’m not a member of Mumsnet, have not visited their site, and couldn’t tell you a great deal about them.

    I heard about the conference and attended due to the calibre of speakers. I made some great contacts. I took away valuable advice. I ate some nice food. I felt it was money well spent. Frankly I don’t care how/why the organisers gain publicity. As far as I’m concerned, they put on an excellent, well organised event.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love blog conferences I just didn’t fancy being apart of this one after their words in their book in relation to bloggers. It just seemed strange they organise a conference targeted at those they felt need to mock.

    • I hope you had a nice time Hun. I’m not having a go at bloggers I’m one of them. But many of us having been branded as mums who sit blogging ignoring the kids and when Mumsnet state it then I wonder why they have cheek to charge them mums cash to attend an event where they are rubbished yet again in the press. It worse still when she states names about blogs I love to read. It isn’t fair for Mumsnet to invite speakers who go home and report the same rubbish they reported in their own book.x

Leave a Reply

