Personalised Wooden Christmas Hearts

20121201-024500.jpg

These wooden Christmas hearts can be hung from the tree as decorations or used as keepsake gift tags.

Here I’ve made some personalised Christmas hearts for the children decorated using the first letter of their name. The other hearts feature mini glittered hearts and Gingerbread men.

To make some of these keepsake Christmas decorations and gift tags you will need…

7 Large Plywood Hearts (or how many you wish to make)
Plywood Letters (for personalising. I’m using G, A & H for Alice, G and Harley)
2 x Medium plywood hearts
2x Mini Wooden Gingerbread Men
Red Acrylic Paint (Christmas Red)
Blue Acrylic Paint (Duck egg)
Gold, Silver, Red Glitter
Bronze Glitter (Ultra Fine)
Wood Glue
Decopatch Glossy Glue (or Mod Podge)
Selection of Ribbon (I’ve used red, gold, silver, blue)

Tools…
Glue brushes
Paint brushes
Drill to make holes

Firstly, I drilled two holes at the top of each end of my large hearts.

I then painted them each in two coats of Acrylic paint, Christmas Red and a shabby duck egg blue. I did this for both sides allowing each an hour in between to dry.

20121201-024539.jpg

Once the paint was dry I added one coat of acrylic glaze to each side of the heart.

20121201-024721.jpg

While my hearts were left to dry I started work on my letters and shapes.

20121201-024857.jpg

One at a time I covered one side of my letters and shapes in Decopatch glue. I then quickly covered them in the different coloured glitters using shakers. I did my letter A in gold, G in red and H in silver. The hearts were covered in gold and silver glitter (I even made a blue one for a later project). As for my mini gingerbread men, these were covered in a very dark ultra fine bronze glitter.

20121201-025002.jpg

I then left these to dry for an hour.

20121201-025048.jpg

In the meantime I brought forward my duck egg blue hearts and covered these in some shimmer (gold glitter added to a little Decopatch glossy glue). The red hearts stayed just as they were.

20121201-025139.jpg

Once my letters and shapes had dried I added another layer of Decopatch glue over each, followed by a second coating of glitter.

As soon as I’d covered all my letters and shapes in a second coat of glitter I took a clean brush for each item and added my final layer of Decopatch glossy glue directly over the top of my glitter. The glitter is still wet at this point so be aware that your brush will get a tad sparkly (this is why I recommend a brush for each item). There is no need to wait till the glitter has dried as by adding a good amount of glitter to your items it will mean you only remove any excess. The glue will look very white and make the glitter seem extremely mat, however, Decopatch glue dries clear and glossy adding that bit more sparkle to your glitter.

20121201-025241.jpg

Once you have completed all your shapes leave them someplace safe to air dry for an hour or so dependent on their drying environment.

Once everything is dry you are now ready to attach your letters and shapes to your painted hearts. This is best done with the use of a good wood glue.

20121201-025507.jpg

My wood glue was super fast drying so I didn’t need to wait long to move onto the final stage of this project. Be sure to read the instructions on that of your chosen wood glue, as to allow yours to dry for the required time stated.

20121201-025550.jpg

20121201-025634.jpg

Now all that’s left to do is add the ribbons, threading them through the back of the heart and then tying them into a pretty bow.

20121201-025827.jpg

Finishing Touches (optional but effective)

The children’s names were added to the personalised letter hearts in a black permanent maker. I also choose to use one of my hearts as a tag on a gift for a friend. I like this idea as the wooden tag can then be kept as a keepsake! I feel its a really personal touch. So, on this heart, I wrote a sweet little message on the back before wrapping her actual gift in brown parcel paper, tying with pretty ribbon and finally attaching my wooden heart to the ribbon… Very effective!

20121201-025952.jpg

20121201-030059.jpg

You can hang these hearts anywhere in the home. The tree, dresser, over jars as to create decorative storage or even in that of the children’s bedrooms. Use them just at Christmas or continue using them throughout the year, its up to you!

20121201-030036.jpg

20121201-030137.jpg

Reference Section

Large wooden hearts plus letters and shapes I brought from HobbyCraft online.

Decopatch Glue – HobbyCraft

Glitter Shaker – Baker Ross Limited

Ribbon – Selection from various shops and craft markets

Acrylic Paints – Hobbycraft

Leave a Reply

