Jumble Sale Finds – The Ultimate Treasure

This week I again visited a Jumble Sale that was also running an auction.

Here’s whats I found…

Jumble Sale…

Darjeeling From Twinings Stacked Tea Tin

20121215-184638.jpg

This very pretty stacked tea tin in blue and white with gold top opens into 4 different sections. Its extremely pretty and decorative and I think it would be the ideal tin to store crafty things like pins and buttons. Of course it was a total jumble sale bargain at just 20p

Decorative Lead Crystal Twinklet pots and jars

20121215-184827.jpg

two of these twinklets are most definitely lead crystal and the other is just pretty decorative glass I think (but still rather heavy in weight). I gave these a clean so they would really shine and now they are ready to dress up my new dressing table which I’ll be getting in the new year. Maybe these could house bobby pins or cotton buds. Im currently using one to store my rings in. Again these were a total jumble sale bargain. I paid 50p for one and the other two I got for £1.30 for the pair.

20121215-185014.jpg

Tall Traditional Sweet Jar

20121215-185130.jpg

This reminds me of the vintage jars housed in a traditional sweet shop… You know… The ones who used to sell sweets from a jar, weighed on a proper scale. I’m not referring to them many online stores that sell “retro” sweets. I’m talking monkey nuts, bonbons and cough candies sold by the quarter! Well, if I’m not mistaken, I think this jar is probably just that… A vintage sweetie jar. Its perfect as a source of storage or maybe the framework for a homemade gift for a friend or family member. This is nice and tall so you could layer sherbets and other sweets or maybe create a pamper jar filled with handmade bath bombs, face packs and shop brought makeup miniatures… The possibilities are endless.

So… How much was my sweetie jar? At 40p I found it more than reasonable.

Auction Buys

Art Deco Vintage Glass Lamp

20121215-185458.jpg

At the auction I picked up this stunning glass and crystal lamp. It looks very vintage and Art Deco and i just love it. This was actually buried in a box of lamps and lamp shades, so therefore auctioned as part of a large lot! Unless you had a good dig round before the action began, you wouldn’t have even known it was in there… Well I didn’t till I found myself bidding for a box of random lamps that I was hoping to use for a craft project! Maybe that’s why it came home with me for just a quid!!! Yep one of my best ever finds… My stunning £1 lamp!

20121215-185610.jpgI love the reflection the light makes on the walls and ceiling, it really is very pretty.

As for the other lamps in the box, it was the shades I was biding for. I wanted to upcycle them with the use of fabric off cuts and buttons. Nonetheless… This remains on my “To Do List” but I’ll most defiantly share the results when I do.

One thought on “Jumble Sale Finds – The Ultimate Treasure

Leave a Reply

