Big Brand Makeup On A Budget (Bootfair Finds)

Just before Christmas on the Sunday I visited a car boot sale that took place in a Multistorey carpark in South Croydon.

We got there rather late, So late in fact that people were actually packing up to leave. However, this did mean that we got to grab a few bargains.

This was mainly in the way of cosmetics And I got to grab a whole bunch of new branded make up that hadn’t ever been open. This was expensive stuff, however I grabbed the whole lot for just £2.

20130103-043656.jpg

Here’s what I got…

Leighton Denny full size nail polish (12ml) in Pure White

20130103-043935.jpg

Leighton Denny full size nail polish (12ml) in Amazing Grey

20130103-043807.jpg

Laura Geller Invisible Oil Blotting Powder (Translucent Compact) full size (12m)

20130103-044418.jpg

20130103-044538.jpg

Laura Geller Baked Cake Eyeliner in Plum Pudding/Black Forest (full size)

20130103-044640.jpg

Laura Geller Wonder Wand Eye Brightener (full size)

20130103-044745.jpg

Models Prefer Brush On Brilliance Aquavit Concealer (full size)

20130103-044848.jpg

I.D by Bare Escentuals Peal Lip Gloss (full size)

20130103-044940.jpg

Can you believe it? All this… Sealed and new for just a few quid. Anybody who likes their makeup will know these are not cheap brands. I normally buy my Leighton Denny Vanishes for at least £11 each and I’ve had Laura Geller makeup which I’ve brought from QVC and its never been really cheap. Given I’ve not had the luxury of buying good quality makeup in sometime, I was dead pleased with my bootfair finds.

The seller was a really lovely women who had some fantastic bits and bobs from makeup to shoes… I just wished I’d had both more money and more time.

So… Me being me, I got home and searched the Internet to try and discover just how much of a saving I actually made.

Most of my new Laura Geller Products are not currently on the QVC site but I found the blotting powder going on eBay for no less than £30 and that wasn’t even sealed (even though it states unused). The Laura Geller collection is highly available in the states but QVC UK does have quiet an extensive range on their site. There are some beautiful products listed and although being QVC you can spot a good deal or two, the prices are of course considerable more than I paid! Check it out for yourself Here.

As for my two Leighton Denny nail polishes I found these both listed on the official Leighton Denny Signature UK site. Both Amazing Grey and Pure White are listed at £11 each. I should mention I also discovered the most gorgeous blue vanish while I was searching and its seriously calling my name (I just might have to pay full price and order that one)! Naughty I know!

My Models Prefer Concealer pen maybe discontinued as this was hard to find. However I did unearth it on eBay at a buy it now price of £9.99 without postage. The Bare Escentuals Lip Gloss will normally set you back £11.99 as sold by Martyn Maxey UK.

Well… Looking at the evidence it would seem that I had a brilliant result. I’m keeping all the products as I like them all. However, seeing the prices some of these items and brands fetch on eBay it may be worth baring this in mind and keeping your eyes wide open next time you hit your local bootfair. I know I will be!

One thought on “Big Brand Makeup On A Budget (Bootfair Finds)

  1. Blimey that was a good find! I only seem to find things that look a bit, y’know…open. Ugh. My current addiction is the Bare Essencials stuff, now if you start getting that at your local boot fare give me a yell!

Leave a Reply

