Ten Things I Love To Make & Do

So, here’s 10 things I love to make and Do… excluding anything to do with my children, friends and family as that’s just obvious now isn’t it!

Number 1: Antiquing (furniture refurbishing)

Yes, one of my latest hobbies is to buy old vintage furniture and refurbish it into shabby chic loveliness. My latest projects are a 1950s dressing table, chest of draws and a set of bedside draws all of which I plan to refurb with Annie Sloan chalk paint in the colour Paris Grey.

Below, Paris Grey Table I’m working on

20130204-030440.jpg

Number 2: Jumble Sales & Bootfairs

I love digging through the treasure at the local jumble sale, I’ve had some amazing finds at both bootfairs and jumble sales… Not forgetting the odd charity shop.

Below, A wicker Basket Full Of Pretty Vintage China From Jumble Sales, Bootfairs And Auctions

20130204-032913.jpg

Number 3: Blogging:

Of course… Blogging is a big love hence the reason I blog both here and at my long running blog A boy with Aspergers.

Below, Collecting A Mad Blog Award For My Blog ‘A Boy With Aspergers’ In 2011

20130204-031812.jpg

Number 4: Candle & Soap Making

Soap making is a relatively new hobby but I’ve been into candle making since I was about 8 years old and make every thing from scented tea lights to candles in vintage tea cups

Below, Pretty Decopatch Jar Candle

20130204-033132.jpg

Number 5: Jar Craft

I love jars and the many uses they provide. I store everything from craft bits and bobs to cup cake sprinkles in them. I’ve decopatched mason jars and upcycled spice jars.

Below, Homemade Sweetie Jar Gift

20130204-032626.jpg

Number 6: Drawing and Painting

Since I was at nursery I’ve loved to draw and paint. I love creating art whether using spray paints and stencils, acrylics or pastels.

Below, Spray Painting

20130204-030820.jpg

Below, Pencil Drawing

20130204-031657.jpg

Number 7: Decopatch

The modern take on decoupage, I use Decopatch papers to decorate everything from paper mâché hearts to twinket boxes.

Below, Decopatch Frame With Corsage Detail

20130204-030701.jpg

Number 8: beading

You don’t need to be good at something to enjoy it. Beading isn’t something I do particularly well (well, when it comes to jewellery making that is)! But I’m still learning and having fun in the process.

Below, Handmade Clay Beads

20130204-032800.jpg

Number 9: Photography (Ok, this ones a tiny bit family focused though not entirely)

I’m no great photographer and despite Having a relatively good camera you will catch me using my iPhone half the time. However, I don’t do it as an art as such, or to make any pennies! I take pictures because I love to capture a moment. Moments with my children, family and friends. Images that make me smile when every single time I look at them, no matter how long down the line that may be.

Below, Penguin Taken On A Family Day Out At London Zoo

20130204-032235.jpg

Below, Image Of My Daughter

20130204-032405.jpg

Below, Another Image Of My Daughter That I Edited On Photo App

20130204-032504.jpg

Number 10: Entering Skill Based Competitions

I just love a creative comp, there are so enjoyable to take part in plus you can win so amazing prizes. Past prizes for me include cash, shopping vouchers and toys. Check back here on the blog from time to time as I often feature some great online competitions all requiring some kind of skill.

Below, A Fun Cath Kidston Competition Entry

20130204-032005.jpg

Below, My Daughter In A Homemade Halloween Costume For Creative Comp

20130204-032124.jpg

Leave a Reply

