Tutorial – Vintage Inspired Lace & Pearl Lipstick Case

Looking through my makeup drawer yesterday I found my little old Crome lipstick case and decided it needed a little TLC to make it pretty again.

This is a really easy upcycle and if you have an old lipstick case knocking about anywhere, you could easy make one too.

What you will need

A metal (or other type) lipstick case
Some pieces of ivory and black lace
Mod podge
A faux pearl
Black Textured Ribbon

This is a very simple look to create due to the magic ingredient of mod podge.

I basically covered my lid of my lipstick case in mod podge then applied a piece of ivory lace, adding a layer of mod podge over the top.

20130226-022746.jpg

I then gave it around 30 minutes drying time before starting on the body of the case.

For the body I opted for a nice black lace. I worked in the same way as my lid allowing to dry and then trimming of any excess lace. This is easier to do once dry as the material doesn’t slide around its more stiff and easier to cut.

20130226-022613.jpg

20130226-231214.jpg

Once I’d done each part of the holders body and it was dry, I used some pretty black ribbon with pretty frill detail to cover the remaining exposed metal (the edging of the lid).

20130226-231308.jpg

Once dry trim any excess ribbon to create a tidy finish.

20130226-231428.jpg

Lastly, I added half a glue dot to the lip just above the opening of my holder and then stuck on my tiny faux white pearl.To make this stronger I added mod podge over the top and left in a warm place to dry.

20130226-231647.jpg

And there you have it… A vintage inspired pearl and lace lipstick case.

20130226-231734.jpg

Leave a Reply

