How Too Make Pink Candy Hearts

20130303-090948.jpg

Recently I brought some candy melts from Hobbycraft, along with some heart moulds specifically designed to use with the candy melts, some lolly sticks and foil sweet wrappers

The candy melts were something I wasn’t familiar with but thought they would be fun to make with the kids.

20130303-090820.jpg

The whole concept is really easy. Simply pour the disks of pink candy into a non metallic bowl, melt in the microwave and then spoon into the moulds.

20130303-091111.jpg

I found that by spooning a small amount of candy into each mould and then banging the mould gently on the work-surface, the candy distributed much easier.

20130303-091236.jpg

While I was spooning in my last couple of hearts I noticed that those I had already created were already beginning to set. This was great but the melted candy mix in my bowl was also getting hard so I had to melt this in the microwave once more (which the packet states its fine to do).

20130303-091329.jpg

The instructions didn’t really indicate if these were ok to pop in the freezer but given the mixture was no longer warm I couldn’t see the harm in doing so.

This made the whole process much quicker and within about 30 minutes I was ready to remove these from their moulds.

I had decided that as I was just trying these out for the first time, I’d leave the whole lolly idea for another time.

One thing I must say is how easily these just popped out of the moulds. I didn’t really need to make an effort to remove them. They came out complete with no broken pieces left behind. I did however, have an air bubble or two leaving a small hole in the base of some pieces of my finished candy.

20130303-091431.jpg

As for the taste test, the kids thought they were ok but didn’t rave about them. Me I really didn’t like the texture nor the taste very much. I kind of expected these to be like lollipop candy but they were more like chocolate. They reminded me of them cheap white mice you used to get in a bag of penny mix.

There are more flavours in the range but I can’t see myself buying these again. They are a nice idea for birthday parties as with the moulds I guess you can create any shape or design of candy you desire but then again you can just melt down everyday chocolate for the same effect.

Its simple, these were not what I was expecting… Lollipop candy this was not!

Disclaimer: I guess this has turned into a bit of a review! Note, I wasn’t paid to write this nor did I receive a free product. The candy melts were an online order, that I paid for myself!!

Leave a Reply

