What’s In My Makeup Bag – My Top 5 Nail Polishes

I’ve done a few “Whats In My Makeup Bag” posts before but sadly not in a while! So, today I thought I’d share my favourite 5 nail polishes that I currently house in my makeup bag.

20130304-175446.jpg

So here we go… I’m counting down from number 5… Oh and check out the Vine clip at the end of this post.

Number 5…. Barry M 293 Grey

A very matt grey that looks great worn alone or with Leighton Denny pure white polish applied as nail art. The polish is pretty easy to apply. Its rather thick so its better to apply a couple of thin layers avoiding heavy coats. If a good top coat is applied the polish lasts well over a week before any chips appear and in my opinion this is much longer than some of the more expensive brands I’ve owned. Barry M is a high street brand that’s a true bargain for under a fiver.

20130304-175059.jpg

Number 4… O.P.I Nail Lacquer – Colour: “Just Spotted The Lizard” Collection: Spiderman Collection

This is a two tone polish that shines a gorgeous gold and green, though in some lights it sometimes has this amazing hint of teal/blue. I love how wide the brush is and how easy the polish is to apply. The only downfall for me is how quickly this polish chips compered to other O.P.I polish, this one started to chip in just a few short days.

But given I love the colour so much its still one of my current favourites.

20130304-180052.jpg

Number 3 Leighton Denny – Diamond Diva

This is a beautiful shimmering silver that looks amazing when it catches the light. The bottle makes the colour seem more like a glitter polish than a shimmer so I was actually really pleased to find it was the latter which I prefer. I apply two thin layers, the polish dries super fast and I’m then left with a non streaky finish that doesn’t lose its sparkle when a top coat in applied. I always find that if wearing a base and top coat the vanish is chip resistant for at least a week.

20130304-175226.jpg

Number 2 Leighton Denny – striptease

As you can see I’m a bit of a Leighton Denny Fan (my top drawer on my dresser is stacked full of it)! I love this colour which is perfect for both spring and summer. Its a really shimmery pink that seems to have lots of different tones coming through. These tones mainly consist of other pinks, as well as the odd hint of lilic and a little peach maybe even orange.

Again the polish is easy to apply (two thin coats work well for me). This one also lasts really well when worn with a good topcoat vanish. It was a strong contender for my number one spot!

20130304-175302.jpg

And finally the polish crowned my current favourite polish in my makeup bag for March 2013 goes to…

WINNER

Number 1: Nail Polish By H&M – Colour: Bella’s Choice

Yes, your not mistaken, the award did just go to the high street fashion chain H&M… Its the wonderful colour I blame for this! Ok, honestly, it doesn’t apply as well as my Leighton Denny and does probably start to look that little bit shabby a day or two ahead of my Leighton Denny Polish. However, I’m totally in love with this very pretty blue colour that is ideal for spring and summer. The polish looks as good on the nails as it does in the bottle. It reminds me of a tropical ocean, making it a perfect travel companion for them summer trips aboard!

20130304-175355.jpg

Verdict…. I love it!

And here’s the Vine Clip that demonstrates the colours much better.

3 thoughts on “What’s In My Makeup Bag – My Top 5 Nail Polishes

Leave a Reply

