Tutorial – Glow Stick Eggs For Magical Night Time Hunts

20130327-093432.jpg

How about an Easter egg hunt with a difference this year? How about a hunt in the dark?

With some clear pearlescent plastic eggs and a tube of glue sticks, you can do just that.

Important: Please Note, because the glow sticks need to be broken down this needs to be preformed by an adult. The eggs should be probably sealed to stop any leakage before children are able to participate in the decorating or hunting of these eggs.

Here is what you’ll need…

Packet of Pearlescent Eggs
Tube of Small Thin Glow Sticks
Self Adhesive Foam Pieces
Self Adhesive Gems
Super Glue
Sticky Eyes
Black Permeant Marker
Feathers in Colours to Suit Eggs

Tools
Scissors
Protective gloves
Apron
Protective Eyewear

Step 1: You will need to open your plastic eggs (number dependent on how many your making) and seal the tiny holes at the top and bottom of the inner shell. I only had self adhesive sticky taps but these seemed to do the job well.

Step 2: I discovered how easily glow sticks are to break as I desperately tried to squash these down to size to allow them to fit within the shell of my eggs. Yes, it exploded and my entire bedroom and face were glowing a fluorescents pink. So instead I put on an Apron and some protective gloves. I also but on some protective eyewear… If you don’t have any then be sure to break these up behind some sort of barrier to protect eyes. I then very quickly cut the glow sticks into small pieces and placed in the plastic egg. The holes are sealed and therefore no leakage should occur.

20130327-093945.jpg

Step 3: Use super glue around the the inner edge of the egg before closing it.

Step 4: Wipe off any excess glue and then leave to dry.

Step 5: leave for 30 minutes, then check your egg is probably sealed with no leakage or chance of it being prised open by little hands of any kind.

20130327-093736.jpg

20130327-093850.jpg

Step 6: Lastly, decorate as desired. For our pink eggs we added some sticky eyes and feathered pink hair. We also used a black marker pen for the detailing. For the green egg we simply used self adhesive gems. The green egg was much brighter than that of the pink. I’m gussing this is because it was my second attempt so I got more glow stick in the egg rather than my face.

20130327-094204.jpg

The pictures are not all that brilliant, I do apologise. I didn’t have my camera, just my iPhone and these were somewhat hard to capture in the dark.

20130327-094307.jpg

So there you have it… Glow stick eggs for a magical night time hunt. You don’t even need to decorate the eggs. Simply load them with glow sticks and then hide them. A really fun activity, however old you may be!

Disclaimer: I am not recommending the craft, I’m merely sharing it. It is up to yourselves to decided if this is a suitable activity for yourselves and your children to partake in.

Leave a Reply

