Mod Podge Miniature Craft Jars

20130121-170446.jpg

So I recently brought these cute little jars from ikea. They came in a set of 4 and were a bargain at under £2.

20130121-170633.jpg

Although they are very sweet and all, I felt they could do with a little decorating.

The jars could be used for anything but were advertised as a set of spice jars. I’ve however decided that they would make great little craft jars, perfect for buttons, sequins, pins and more.

To decorate my jars I used a number of different items… Here’s what you will need to make yours…

Ikea set of 4 spice jars ( from the marketplace)

And to decorate…

Section of patterned papers
Mod Podge Gloss
Paper Lace Trimming
Ribbon
Selection of embellishments (I used card buttons, a foam butterfly and a couple of sequins)

Firstly chose your papers. I’m aiming for a real girly design with floral papers that give the jars a bit of a shabby feel.

Take the lid of your jar and use it as a template to draw around leaving a circle template on your chosen paper. Do this 4 times, once for each jar.

20130121-165908.jpg

Carefully cut out your circles and use mod podge Glossy Lustre to secure to your jar. The circle shape on the jar is the same size as the lid so the paper is a perfect fit. Add the mod podge to both sides of the paper using a decoupage technique.

20130121-165954.jpg

Leave all to dry for around 30 minutes then add your finishing touches.

I’ve done the following…

Added lace paper trimming, and ribbon around the centre of each jar.

20130121-170044.jpg

I’ve used embellishments to decorate the front of each jar. I’ve secured each embellishment to the middle of the jar where i’ve covered each one with paper. I did this by using the mod podge and again using the Decopatch technique.

20130121-170128.jpg

Be sure to let your jars dry fully before filling with your craft bits and bobs.

20130121-170223.jpg

2 of my finished jars are currently being used to store buttons, another is used for small cotton reels and mini pegs, where the last is housing some of my glass beads.

20130121-170329.jpg

I really like the results. The jars are very easy to decorate and provide me with a great little storage solution.

Pretty don’t you think?

20130121-170828.jpg

Leave a Reply

